Home    About us     About india     Picture gallery      Contact us     Faq     Online Query
      India :- Around & About   »   History   »   Economy   »   Climate   »  Governance   »   Facts   »  Sightseeing  
Andhra Pradesh
Arunachal Pradesh
Himachal Pradesh
Jammu and Kashmir
Madhya Pradesh
Tamil Nadu
Uttar Pradesh
West Bengal
  Union Territories of india
Andaman and Nicobar Islands
Dadra and Nagar Haveli
Daman and Diu

Geography of Andaman & Nicobar Islands

The Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands is known throughout the country as 'Kalapani' because of their having been a penal settlement under the British Rule. The islands lie in a long and narrow broken chain, approximately north-south sprawling like an arc. Andaman group of islands and the Nicobar group of islands, have entirely different population and problems. The dreaded 10o channel, which is about 145 km wide and 400 fathoms deep, separates the two groups.

This territory comprises islands some of which are large such as North Andaman, Middle Andaman, South Andaman, Baratang, Little Andaman in the Andaman group and Car Nicobar. Situated in the Bay of Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar islands constitute one of the most important union territories. This is a group of big and small picturesque islands forming a narrow broken chain in the form of a north-south arc and are situated at 16oN and 14oN latitude and 92oE and 94oE longitude. Geologically the islands appear to have been part of the land mass of South east Asia comprising North East India, Burma, Thailand, Malaysia and Indonesia.

The climate of the islands is generally described as tropical and warm but the temperature is pleasant by sea breeze. The islands are exposed to both the monsoons and to north-easterly gale from November to December and south-westerly gale from May to October. The weather is calm only from January to April and to some extend in October. The average annual rainfall is 318cms. Rough weather prevails at the beginning of south-west monsoon and at the change of monsoon. The average temperature ranges between 22.5o and 29.9o.

This territory consists of two distinct groups of islands-Andaman and Nicobar. There are more than 3000 islands, islets and rocks in the archipelago while only about 300 of them are of appreciable size. Of these only 39 islands are inhabited. The northern most point is Landfall island which is 901 kms away from the mouth of Hoogly River and about 190kms from Burma. The southern-most island is Great Nicobar, the southern-most tip of which Pygmalian Point now Indira Point is about 150 kms away from Sumatra (Indonesia).

The terrain is generally mountainous with long ranges of hills enclosing narrow valleys. The configuration of the land clearly points to these islands being the visible ridges and summits of sunken ranges of mountains, Saddle Peak in North Andaman at a height of 732 metres above sea level is the highest point in these islands. There are no great elevations and the slopes are moderate to steep and rugged. They are susceptible to heavy soil erosion. Flat lands are comparatively scarce. The villages in Betapur and Diglipur constitute the main flat lands in the Andaman group.

The islands in the Nicobar group are surrounded by coral reef and shallow seas. Long narrow stretches of sandy beaches are a salient feature of the topography here. Car Nicobar and Katchal are almost flat while the others have hilly terrain. In Little Nicobar and Great Nicobar in the Nicobar group, the land surface is very irregular, cut up by steep hills and valleys.

Andaman Nicobar
Arts and Crafts
Tourist Attractions
> States of India
> Colours of India
> Festivals of India
> Monuments of India
> Art and crafts of India
> Scriptures of India
> Cuisines of India
> Proud to be an Indian
> Religions of India
> Only in India
> World Heritage sites in India
> Jashan-e-Azadi
  All Rights Reserved By :- Indian Discovery  
  Site Designed And Maintained By :- Macadamia Info Solutions